About CRI

James P. Allison, Ph.D.


The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas

Dr. Allison is professor and chair of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Department of Immunology in the Division of Basic Science Research. He directs MD Anderson’s Immunology Platform and is deputy director of the David H. Koch Center for Applied Research in Genitourinary Cancers, Department of Genitourinary Medical Oncology – Research. He also is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

A member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and its Institute of Medicine, Dr. Allison has served on CRI’s Scientific Advisory Council as a member since 2004, as an associate director since 2006, and as director as of October 1, 2011.

He is a past president of the American Association of Immunologists, and has been the recipient of numerous awards, including CRI’s most prestigious scientific award, the William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology, in 2005, as well as the 2010 Richard V. Smalley, MD Memorial Award from the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC, formerly the International Society for the Biologic Therapy of Cancer, or iSBTc).