Let's spread the word about Immunotherapy! Click to share this page with your community.
Copy Link

The AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology recognizes an active scientist whose outstanding and innovative research in cancer immunology has had a far-reaching impact on the cancer field.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Lloyd J. Old (1933–2011), who was the founding scientific and medical director of the Cancer Research Institute (CRI) and was elected as an honorary member of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) in 1995. He is recognized as the founder of modern tumor immunology and the standard-bearer in the field of cancer immunotherapy. With steadfast vision and leadership, the late Dr. Old shepherded basic discovery in tumor immunity from the bench and animal models into clinical research, with the goal of discovering immune-based solutions to cancer.


Ronald Levy, M.D.
Dr. Levy is honored for important contributions to cancer immunology, specifically for pioneering the use of antibodies, such as rituximab, for cancer treatment. His work has been integral to the dramatic progress in tumor immunotherapy over the past three decades, revealing the potential for not only monoclonal antibody therapy, but also tumor vaccination and immune costimulation to generate antitumor immune responses.


Carl H. June, M.D.
Dr. June is honored for his pioneering efforts related to the development of chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapy. His work with CAR T-cell therapy has significantly enhanced the promise of cancer immunotherapy. For example, a CD19-targeted CAR T cell therapy developed by June and his team was recently licensed by Novartis, and the investigational therapy, now called CTL019, has received breakthrough therapy designation from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of relapsed and refractory adult and pediatric acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL). This work will not only have a profound impact on the treatment of leukemia but is paving the way for the development of CAR T therapies for other types of cancer.


Robert D. Schreiber, Ph.D.
Dr. Schreiber is honored for his pioneering contributions to the field of cancer immunology, which have helped establish a clearer understanding of the immune system’s role in tumor progression. His important discoveries include the identification of IFNγ as a key cytokine in antitumor immunity and the development of the cancer immunoediting concept, which integrates the host protective and tumor promoting functions of the immune system and provides a framework for the design of cancer immunotherapies.


James P. Allison, Ph.D.
Dr. Allison has contributed to much of our understanding of the mechanisms regulating the immunological responses mediated by the T cells. He laid the foundation for the human body's ability to manipulate the T cell system for therapeutic applications against cancers.

*Immunotherapy results may vary from patient to patient.