Oliver R. Grace Award

For distinguished service in advancing cancer research

Oliver Grace

Oliver R. Grace Award

The Oliver R. Grace Award for Distinguished Service in Advancing Cancer Research recognizes the contributions of dedicated companies and individuals whose leadership has helped to advance cancer research through their fundraising, advocacy, or awareness efforts.

The Award is named in memory of Oliver R. Grace, CRI’s founding chairman, who died in 1992 and received the award posthumously the following year.

In 1975, CRI founder Helen Coley Nauts was the first recipient of this award, which is a commemorative medal. Other recipients include Mary Lasker in 1977 and Lewis Thomas, MD, in 1987.

Past Recipients

2020Mark E. Fischbach aka “Markiplier”

2020 Award Recipients

Mark E. Fischbach aka “Markiplier”

2019Oliver R. Grace, Jr., Axel Hoos

2019 Award Recipients

Oliver R. Grace, Jr.

Chief Executive, Grace Family Office

Axel Hoos

Senior Vice President of Oncology R&D

2018Perri Peltz, George D. Yancopoulos

2018 Award Recipients

Perri Peltz

Journalist and Filmmaker

George D. Yancopoulos

Founding Scientist, President, and Chief Scientific Officer
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals

2017Bill Anderson, Bruce Ratner

2017 Award Recipients

Bill Anderson


Bruce Ratner

Philanthropist and NYC Real Estate Developer

2016Robert A. Bradway

2016 Award Recipients

Robert A. Bradway

Chairman & CEO

2015Kenneth C. Frazier, Lauren S. Veronis

2015 Award Recipients

Kenneth C. Frazier

Chairman & CEO
Merck & Co.

Lauren S. Veronis

Philanthropist and Trustee
Cancer Research Institute

2014Murdo Gordon, Jacques C. Nordeman

2014 Award Recipients

Murdo Gordon

Head, Worldwide Markets
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Jacques C. Nordeman

Nordeman Grimm, Inc.

2013Bahija Jallal, PhD, Sean Parker

2013 Award Recipients

Bahija Jallal, PhD

Executive Vice President, Research and Development

Sean Parker

Serial tech entrepreneur and philanthropist

2012Mark P. Frissora, Dr. Severin Schwan

2012 Award Recipients

Mark P. Frissora

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Hertz Corporation

Dr. Severin Schwan

Chief Executive Officer
Roche Corporation

2011Mitchell H. Gold, MD, Laura Ziskin (1950-2011)

2011 Award Recipients

Mitchell H. Gold, MD

President and Chief Executive Officer
Dendreon Corporation

Laura Ziskin (1950-2011)

Film Producer and Cancer Activist

2010Andrew Witty, Michael Kors

2010 Award Recipients

Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer

Michael Kors

American Fashion Designer

2009Fred Hassan

2009 Award Recipients

Fred Hassan

Chairman & CEO
Schering-Plough Corporation

2008Carlos A. Ferrer

2008 Award Recipients

Carlos A. Ferrer

Founder & Managing Member
Ferrer Freeman & Company, LLC

2007David R. Brennan, Wade F.B. Thompson

2007 Award Recipients

David R. Brennan

Chairman & CEO
AstraZeneca PLC

Wade F.B. Thompson

Chairman, CEO, & Co-Founder
Thor Industries, Inc.

2006Julian H. Robertson Jr.

2006 Award Recipients

Julian H. Robertson Jr.

Tiger Management LLC

2005Robert L. Bratzler, PhD, Carol Hamilton

2005 Award Recipients

Robert L. Bratzler, PhD

President & CEO
Coley Pharmaceutical Group

Carol Hamilton

L’Oreal Paris

2004Dr. Daniel L. Vasella

2004 Award Recipients

Dr. Daniel L. Vasella

Chairman & CEO
Novartis AG

2003Mrs. Anna-Maria Kellen, Dr. Henry A. McKinnell Jr.

2003 Award Recipients

Mrs. Anna-Maria Kellen

Philanthropist & CRI Trustee

Dr. Henry A. McKinnell Jr.

Chairman of the Board & CEO
Pfizer Inc.

2002Katie Couric, Peter R. Dolan

2002 Award Recipients

Katie Couric

Co-Anchor, NBC New’s Today
Founder, National Colorectal Cancer Research Alliance

Peter R. Dolan

Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

2001Geoffrey T. Boisi, Andrea Jung, Kevin W. Sharer, Sidney Taurel

2001 Award Recipients

Geoffrey T. Boisi

Vice Chairman
JPMorgan Chase & Co

Andrea Jung

Chief Executive Officer
Avon Products, Inc.

Kevin W. Sharer

Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
Amgen Inc.

Sidney Taurel

Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer
Eli Lilly and Company

2000Walter A. Gubert, Dr. Franz B. Humer

2000 Award Recipients

Walter A. Gubert

Vice Chairman
J.P. Morgan & Co. Incorporated

Dr. Franz B. Humer

Chief Executive Officer
Head of Pharmaceuticals Division
F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd.

1999Robert C. Black, Donald J. Gogel

1999 Award Recipients

Robert C. Black

Zeneca Pharmaceuticals

Donald J. Gogel

President & CEO
Clayton, Dubilier & Rice

1998John S. Chalsty, General H. Norman Schwarzkopf, Wayne P. Yetter

1998 Award Recipients

John S. Chalsty

Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Inc.

General H. Norman Schwarzkopf

U.S. Army, Retired

Wayne P. Yetter

President & CEO
Novartis Pharmaceuticals

1997Jean-Pierre Garnier, PhD, Allen D. Wheat

1997 Award Recipients

Jean-Pierre Garnier, PhD

SmithKline Beecham

Allen D. Wheat

Chairman & CEO
Credit Suisse First Boston

1996Michael H. Jordon, Robert N. Wilson

1996 Award Recipients

Michael H. Jordon

Chairman & CEO
Westinghouse Electric Corporation

Robert N. Wilson

Vice Chairman, Board of Directors
Johnson & Johnson

1995Gordon Binder, John F. Smith Jr.

1995 Award Recipients

Gordon Binder

Chairman & CEO

John F. Smith Jr.

CEO & President
General Motors Corporation

1993Oliver R. Grace

1993 Award Recipients

Oliver R. Grace

1987Lewis Thomas

1987 Award Recipients

Lewis Thomas

1977Mary Lasker

1977 Award Recipients

Mary Lasker

1975Helen Coley Nauts

1975 Award Recipients

Helen Coley Nauts

This website uses tracking technologies, such as cookies, to provide a better user experience. If you continue to use this site, then you acknowledge our use of tracking technologies. For additional information, review our Privacy Policy.