A Spanish version the page you have requested doesn't exist. Please click continue to to be navigated to the page, or click Cancel to remain on the current page.


If you are having problems or would like to join the conversation, watch on:

YouTube Live or Facebook Live


2021 CRI Virtual Immunotherapy Patient Summit in Spanish

Thursday, September 16, 2021

2:00 - 5:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM PT

 

Connecting You with Leading Experts in Cancer Immunotherapy

summitWelcome to the first-ever CRI Virtual Immunotherapy Patient Summit presented entirely in Spanish. Hosted by former national Univision program host Ana Patricia Gámez, this free, interactive online event connects cancer patients and caregivers with leading immunotherapy experts at the cutting edge of cancer research and patient care. During our three-hour event, you’ll hear from top U.S. physician-scientists as well as patients treated with immunotherapy. You’ll also hear about disparities in access to quality healthcare faced by members of the Hispanic community and learn about resources to help you or your loved one navigate your cancer journey.

We look forward to you joining us!

Program

2:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM PT

Welcome and Introduction to the Cancer Research Institute

Ana Patricia Gámez opens our event and welcomes Brian Brewer, chief communications officer at the Cancer Research Institute, who will share how his organization’s mission to save more lives with immunotherapy is helping to create a future immune to all cancers for all people

2:10 PM ET / 11:10 AM PT

The Basics of Cancer Immunotherapy, w Q&A

World-leading cancer immunologist Dr. Antoni Ribas introduces you to the basics of our immune system and how its power to protect us against disease is being harnessed to fight – and in some cases cure – many different types of cancer

2:40 PM ET / 11:40 AM PT

Understanding Clinical Trials: Are They an Option for Me or My Loved One?

Dr. Ana Aparicio explains what clinical trials are, why they’re important to advancing new medicines and cancer treatments, and what you can expect when enrolling as a volunteer participant

3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT

Patient Perspectives: Sharing the Immunotherapy Experience

Dr. Ana Aparicio moderates this panel featuring patients who will share their personal experiences with learning about immunotherapy and receiving it as treatment for their different types of cancer, either as part of a clinical trial or as part of a new standard treatment regimen.

4:15 PM ET / 1:15 PM PT

Accessing Quality Health Care: Overcoming Barriers to Our Community

Award-winning reporter, author, and co-presenter of the Univision program Aquí y Ahora Teresa Rodríguez moderates a panel of medical experts including Drs. Narjust Duma, Ana María López, and Estelamari Rodriguez, who will discuss the language, socioeconomic, and other barriers that Hispanic and Latino community members often encounter when seeking cancer treatment.

5:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM PT

Closing Remarks: Staying Connected, Staying Informed, Staying Empowered

Host Ana Patricia Gámez and CRI’s Brian Brewer return to wrap up our program designed to provide you with information and resources you need to explore and understand your immunotherapy cancer treatment options.

Speakers

picture of Ana Patricia Gámez
Ana Patricia Gámez
Television Personality
Podcast Host
picture of Teresa Rodríguez
Teresa Rodríguez
Anchor of “Aquí y Ahora”
on Univision
picture of Antoni Ribas, M.D., Ph.D.
Antoni Ribas, M.D., Ph.D.
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of California, Los Angeles
picture of Ana Aparicio, M.D.
Ana Aparicio, M.D.
The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center
picture of Narjust Duma, M.D.
Narjust Duma, M.D.
Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
picture of Ana María López, M.D., MPH, MACP, FRCP
Ana María López, M.D., MPH, MACP, FRCP
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals
picture of Estelamari Rodriguez, M.D., MPH, FRCP
Estelamari Rodriguez, M.D., MPH, FRCP
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
picture of Isolde Artz
Isolde Artz
Melanoma Patient
picture of Matilde Quintana
Matilde Quintana
Lung Cancer Patient
picture of Maribel Ramos
Maribel Ramos
Breast Cancer Veteran

Request a Clinical Trial Orientation Appointment

Thank you to our generous sponsors and institutional partners who have made this powerful program possible:

Official Media Partner

Univision Logo

Sponsors

Alkermes Logo
Bristol Myers Squibb Logo
Lilly Logo
Merck Logo
Regeneron Logo
Sanofi Genzyme Logo

Host Institutions

MD Anderson Logo
NYU Langone Logo

Questions?

Email Us patients@cancerresearch.org

Top