Get Involved

23rd Annual Awards

July 11, 2009
05:30 PM
The St. Regis, 2 East 55th Street, New York, NY

The 23rd Annual Awards Dinner of the Cancer Research Institute was held on June 11, 2009 at The St. Regis in New York City, where nearly 200 guests raised $628,950 for CRI’s programs.

The 2009 William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Tumor Immunology was awarded to Cornelis J.M. Melief, M.D., Ph.D., professor in the Department of Immunohematology at Leiden University Medical Center and Chief Scientific Officer at ISA Pharmaceuticals B.V., for his novel insights into the relationship between tumors and the host’s immune system, in particular his description of certain key mechanisms of cytotoxic T lymphocyte recognition of tumor antigen and their subsequent activation, and for his development of innovative therapies that have been applied in the clinic or are being translated in the clinic based on improved insights into cell-mediated immunity.

The 2009 William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic Immunology was presented to Frederick W. Alt, Ph.D., Senior Investigator and Scientific Director at the Immune Disease Institute, Howard Hughes Medical Investigator at the Boston Children's Hospital, and Charles A. Janeway Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, and Klaus Rajewsky, M.D., Senior Investigator at the Immune Disease Institute and Fred S. Rosen Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School, who equally shared this award for their fundamental contributions to our understanding of B-cell development and function, and the mechanisms underlying B cell lymphomagenesis. 

The 2009 Oliver R. Grace Award for Distinguished Service in Advancing Cancer RJuesearch was presented to Fred Hassan, chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Schering-Plough Corporation, for his leadership at Schering-Plough, a global health care company committed to the development of new medicines and immune-based therapies for cancer and infectious and inflammatory diseases that are designed to improve the health and quality of life for patients around the world.

Co-chairs and presenters at the event were James P. Allison, Ph.D., Glenn Dranoff, M.D., Carlos A. Ferrer, Donald J. Gogel, Thomas P. Koestler, Andrew M. Paul, and Alex Witt, anchor and correspondent at MSNBC, serviced as master of ceremonies.